Just did my first ever day...

Joonyer

Hi all

Started HST today after my 9 day SD. I've been training for around 14 months or so and had fallen into the usual rut - not eating enough to gain much, not wanting to do deload weeks, struggling along on the same weights (going up/down here and there) and stumbled onto HST.

Worked out my maxes as best I could, took my week off, and went in today feeling all cocky thinking it would be like having a few warmups, and I'd leave without breaking a sweat ("These are comically light weights, lol" etc). Boy was I wrong. I had no idea reps 13-15 could be so incredibly painful - I really had to push through some barriers! It's probably a lot worse as I've chosen to do 2 sets of the 15s rather than 1 - which I might even regret as I couldnt quite hit 15 on the second set of flat bench (and one or two others). Even so, I can see how you could get addicted to trying to overcome the lactic acid build up...

I left with some seriously aching arms. I'm wondering if I've estimated my weights wrong, because I'm not sure I'm going to be able to increase every time. I'll have to just pack in some serious calories for the next few weeks, as I guess I'm not going to see growth without fuelling it properly.

I may struggle to keep the 60 secs between exercises rule, because my gym is often pretty busy but I can only do what the situation allows.

Anyway, I'm feeling positive about it - should be interesting seeing the results!

Matt

If you could not easily make 15 reps on your first day, drop the weight by 15-20% or so or you will not have any progression and increase your risk of injury. It is difficult to estimate 15's but you should have a good feel for your next cycle. Also, if you find that near the end of a certain rep group you have underestimated your maxes, go for slower eccentric movements to force them to become maxes. (Or a second, but less desirable, choice is to just do extra reps.)