Just finished 1st cycle...please help with next steps

Weds31

Just finished my 5's and will be out of town for the holidays and will probably just take a week or so off for strategic deconditioning. I really want to customize another routine. The 15's were ok and I did see some growth. The 10's were great and this is where I made the most progress and growth but not as much as I'd have liked to. I did NOT like the 5's at all. I felt like I got stronger but the growth just wasn't there. I'm not that much bigger than when i started this whole thing. Kind of discouraging to be honest. When I start my next cycle what do you suggest I do with the 15's and 5's? I read that I don't really need to do the 15's a second time and for the 5's I just felt like I wasn't getting the proper amount of reps. Apologies if this was answered somewhere else and take into account that I am still learning all the terminology so please try and keep that in mind. Here is my routine below. I'd like to change it up with most everything as I didn't really like these. Any suggestions would be awesome. Thank you for all the help everyone!

Front Squats (smith machine) - unfortunately the gym I joined doesn't have a squat rack...wtf!?
Leg Press
Romanian dl
Incline Bench
Lat Pull
Seated Row (machine)
Shrug
Shoulder Press (machine)
Lat Raise
Rear Delt raise
Curls
Lying Tri Extension
Calf Raise
weighted ab curls (on knees...don't really know what it's proper name is)

Do more sets. I keep saying this, but I think it is important to keep volume up. For example 2 sets of 15s, 3 sets of 10s & 6 sets of 5s, this way you keep volume at 30 total reps per exercise/muscle group.

if you only do 1 set, then the volume (total reps) is actually decreasing as the cycle goes on. 1x5 is a lot less volume than 1x15.

Of course you doing quite a lot of exercises, so you may only need to do something like 1x15, 2x10 & 3x5.

Last edited: