light weight exercises

ltyson

I promised I searched but could not find my answer. That is not to say that I probably missed it somewhere in my search though.

This is my first time trying HST after training for many years in a more "traditional" way. I have constructed my routine and have taken my 15, 10 and 5 rep max's.

My question is on exercises such as DB Curls where the 15 rep max may be 45 or so pounds and you add lets say 5lbs a workout (40, 35, 30, 25, 20, 15) how do you handle the problem of such low weight in the beginning workouts?

It would seem to me that the weight is to low to elicit any real response from the muscle even with the increases each workout. Do you just stick to the plan or do light weight exercices take a different approach?

I understand the whole mind muscle connection and the fact that you can concentrate and really feel the weight so to speak, but things like 15, 20, and 25 really are very light when your used to doing 40's or 45's. I mention the 15's phase but my question is how to handle the same issue in the 10's and 5's.

Any help or pointing me in the direction of info would be great.

Thanks,
Ltyson

You will appreciate the light weights now when later on in your routine stuff gets really heavy. Trust me
smile.gif

Don't start with such a low weight. If your 15 RM is 45, you'll probably not want to start with less than 30 lbs. Just repeat weights in order to make it fit the progression. So, 30 35 35 40 45 45 or something like that will work fine.

You should start with about 75% of your RM. Like Tot said, repeat weights to do that if necessary.

Also, read the FAQ's. It's all in there.

Ridgley's "Minor Principles" answers those questions quite well -- definately required reading. But Tot answered it well for you. Start a little heavier and repeat weights. Especially, I have found, on iso's.

i freaking hate leg day, i never knew 2x15 on squat would be tougher (IMO) then 5x5.

<div>