Looking to Start HST - Home Gym

Guys,

I realize that the piece of exercise equipment I own is almost universally hated in the fitness world, but my employer actually gave me one for free, and working out at home is the best option for me.... So, how would I tailor an HST workout to a Bowflex Ultimate 2? I've been working out for about 2 months now, and would like to try this method. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Please no flames on the Bowflex. In time I may add to the home gym with some free weights, but want to give this machine a chance first...

Cheers,

I'd guess the Bowflex you have has some sort of chest pressing, back rowing, shoulder pressing, and squatting motions built in, so just use those. You could also do some chinups on something besides the bowflex. As long as the bowflex has enough resistance for you, why wouldn't it be fine for body recomposition purposes?

I have used a Bowflex Xtreme (for 2 years) for 7 out of 12 exercises in my last HST cycle (SD now).  First, realize that the resistance produced by most of the rods is not up to the resistance marked; I found by measuring with a digital electronic scale that only the 50's produce 50 pounds, and that was only when pegged.  Unless you have very long arms, that won't happen in many exercises.  So, you can't easily compare what you do with it to a similar exercise using free weights.

I gave up trying to do ab crunches on it; it either leaves red marks when looped around my shoulders at high enough resistance or becomes uncomfortable with elbows completely bent (like a pull-up position), especially after any arm exercise.  Your machine has an optional attachment available for abs.

If you have the standard 310 rods, not the 410, you may find a need for an upgrade soon.  I am only 5'8" 149 lbs, but had to upgrade to 410 eight months ago.

I am glad I have it since I don't think I would have started training any other way.

Without further adue.