Martial Arts and HST

ivo

Hey Guys,

I am getting back into my martial arts after a layoff from injury. I would like to hear other peoples experiences/knowledge with HST and MA. I am wondering if it is detrimental to HST in terms of creating high muscular tension and fibre recruitment from punching, kicking and grappling and if this has any diminishing effects on the mechanical load principle of HST?

Cheers,
Ivo
Perth,
Western Australia

Well I am not a martial artist...but I would say dont worry about it.

Go with a regualar cycle of hst and if you are not recovering just lower your volume.

I've trained in shotokan karate and san soo kungfu for over 20 years.  I took some time off while I was getting fat and lazy but have been training again for the last 3 years along with weight training.  Go ahead and do both.  Your martial arts training may cost you some size because of the intense cardiovascular workouts involved if you don't eat enough.  But if you eat enough to support it, both types of training will be very beneficial.  The improved balance and body awareness from the MA training will improve the quality of your weight training.  The extra strength will improve your martial arts.

Many fighters will tell you that weight training isn't beneficial, or that you'll get muscle bound, or that if your technique is good you don't need to be big and strong...however, think about it - who would you rather NOT step into the ring with...two equally prepared fighters, exactly the same skill level, exactly the same quality of technique delivery, exactly the same speed.  One is 130lbs, the other is 230lbs and shredded.

Just make sure you eat enough quality food and get enough sleep.