Mixing HST and Other Workouts

stevec

Okay I've established in some other threads that I'm an experienced lifter though I don't have any formal background, but I'm fairly new to HST.

I did my first cycles of HST over the summer--I did two four-week cycles (with one week of 15s/10s/5s/5s) not counting SD before each cycle. I got great results, gaining 13 pounds and an inch on both bicepts and almost two inches on both thighs.

I'm getting ready to get back into a bulking/HST cycle for the fall but I'd like to see if I can improve some things this time.

QUESTION:
Can I use HST for most of my workout but use other methods for different muscle groups? I haven't read about the specifics behind SST yet but since I'm assuming it's as good as HST I was thinking about trying to do an HST workout while using SST principles for my abs, lower back, and maybe my pecs. Would something like this work? Or even if I just did the old-school high-rep calisthenics for my abs, would that be okay? Are these going to detract from the success I get with HST? (Provided I take in enough protein/carbs to minimize risk of additional catabolizing muscle.)

Outside of that, what about other workouts during the course of the week? If I'm using HST but it's either not my HST time or not the day of my cycle how much of a negative impact will a different workout have on my muscular hypertrophy from HST? Does it make a difference if this workout is cardio or a lifting workout? I'm sure it's got to make some kind of an impact but I'm having a hard time reasoning through what it would be.

Thanks a bunch for the help.

Oh, no one ever answered--should I put multiple questions in a single thread or make a different thread for each different question? I just wanna abide by forum ettiquite.

-Steve