My HST plan

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date
G

I don't know if I am going to get scolded for this but... I am starting my first HST cycle on tuesday and this is the set scheme I am using.

2x15 weeks 1-2
3x10 weeks 2-4
4x5 weeks 5-6

Is this way too high volume for a beginning HST guy?
Don't forget I have been lifting already for about 5 years.

Nas Man

<div>
(Nasadowski @ Oct. 22 2006,19:43)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Is this way too high volume for a beginning HST guy?</div>
Hard to say. How many different exercises per body part? How many days per week?

It's similar to what I did my first time. I grew more during that first HST cycle than with anything I've done before or on my current HST with less sets. The only thing I did differently in mine was 5x5 at the end.

Old and Grey,
Sorry about not actually posting what exercises I was doing. That was obviously needed
biggrin.gif

Here it is:
Squat
Stiff-Leg Deadlift
Inclined Bench Press (dumbbells)
Chins (Wide Grip, Narrow Grip)
Rows (Wide Grip, Narrow Grip)
Shrugs
Shoulder Press Dumb Bells
Lateral Raise
Rear Delts
Dumbbell Curls
Tricep Pushdowns
Calf Raise
Abdominal Crunches

PS
I already started my first week of 15s and I have to say I enjoyed the full body workout. I do have a few questions that have been in my mind. I know we are not supposed to work to failure. Obviously that would overtrain us quite quickly. What about are second (10s) and third block (5s). I can't see myself being able to get 10 reps in for 3 sets of ten without starting to struggle on the second and third sets. Same thing with 5s. When I get there I am sure my 2,3, and fourth set will not be easy to complete. If this is the case and I start to fail before my desired rep range what are we supposed to do?

Thanks in advance
Nas Man