Nearly ready to start

wwazza

Hi all,

I know I'm new here but I have been researching as much as possible before I start my first cycle in a few weeks, and would like some feedback on a routine I'm contemplating.

Leg Press
Deadlift
Wide grip Pull Ups
Bench Press
Bent over row
weighted dips
Barbell shoulder press
Barbell Shrug
EZ Bar Curl
EZ Bar Tricep extension
Calf raise on leg press machine
Ab crunch machine or weighted sit ups

I would have liked to have done squats but I use two gyms depending on whether I'm in work or not and one of them doesn't have a squat rack. So I was hoping leg press would be good enough along with Deadlifts and calf raises.

Over the next few weeks I was going to try this sample routine out to perfect form and judge whether it would take too long to complete in one session.

I am really looking forward to it so any help off you experts would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Wazza! i'm not an expert but i think that maybe you have a few too many exercises. And from personal experience, doing deadlifts and bent over rows in the same workout is very bad for lower back and can really hurt on 5s+. SO i would get rid of one of them. I've gone with a similar set up but a little more simplified, (as that seems to be the way forward especially for beginners):

Squat
Incline bench
Dips
Chins
Tricep ext
Bicep curl
Dumbell shoulder
Abs

That sounds like a sensible option. I suppose I was waiting for someone to tell me I had too many exercises.

How about I stick with the rows but drop deadlifts. Will leg press and calf press be enough to train my lower half?

What about dropping the shrugs as well. Would barbell shoulder press be enough?

That would take it to 10 exercises

Leg Press
Wide grip Pull Ups
Bench Press
Bent over row
Weighted dips
Barbell shoulder press
EZ Bar Curl
EZ Bar Tricep extension
Calf raise on leg press machine
Weighted sit ups

I could also drop the tricep extensions if I feel its too much maybe?