New to HST, some queries. Cheers

G'day all,

I've been lifting for a few years, coming from Crossfit to SS to Greyskull LP to 5/3/1. Loved the 5/3/1 with BBB assistance work. I saw some good strength gains, although being a typical "ectomorph", tall, skinny, never eating enough, I have not seen much in term of size gain.

Since stumbling across this site, I've read heaps and already learned a lot. No more "lean bulk". There are a lot of knowledgeable people here who freely share their experiences which is great.

I have a couple of questions.

1. HST is now a good 10 years old. What's the consensus, zig-zagging still the go?

2. I've got a bung left shoulder which I'm trying to rest. No OHP for me. I find it hard to load and maintain decent form on heavy seated bent-over DB raise, would high pulls work as a substitute for shoulder work?

3. I train at home. I have a decent set up, but obviously no leg curl machine. I really want to alternate squat with DL, so using SLDL in the same workout is out. Any suggestions for hamstring work? Possibly Good-mornings?

My routine looks something like this:

Squat/DL
Hamstring (good-morning?)
Bench/dips
Chins/BB row
Shoulder (High pulls?)
Shrugs (possibly overkill after high pulls)
Hammer curl
Tricep pull down/cgbp
Calves

I've tried not to cramm everything in as it is a lot of compound exercises.

That's it (for now haha)

Any comments, critique is more than welcome. Cheers

Last edited:
High pulls are fine for shoulders.
Good mornings are fine for hamstrings and lower back, as long as you are flexible and use good form.
No need for shrugs with high pulls.

Your routine looks good, a small zig-zag in load for each mini-cycle(10s, 5s, etc.) is fine, as long as the load is progressing each workout.

If you study HST, follow the training and eat enough to gain a couple pounds a week, your muscles will grow.

Good luck.

HST is now a good 10 years old. What's the consensus, zig-zagging still the go?