New to HST.

Prodigy

Hey,

Im 18 years old, roughly 10.4 stone.

Im new to weightlifiting, would I see good results with HST?

Also, I would be working out at home, I have a barbel, dumbells, and will buy a weight bench, will I still be okay?

I think you'd be better served by a program like 5x5 concentrating on the volume portion of the workout, which is along HST principles generally speaking but is more focussed on developing strength.  As a new comer to the whole thing you should concentrate on developing your strength which will likely allow reasonable enough weight increases over time to lead to what is by default an HST like approach anyway.

More importantly you should use this introductory time to focus a lot on your approach to diet and nutrition as it's best to have that dialed in rather than spending time getting the hang of it once your new comer gains stall.

As for equipment, that's all you really need. Check out this site for exercises utilizing that equipment: www.exrx.net

i dissagree with xahrx .
when i started training in the 70s i did a fullbody 3x a week and got great gains.
do HST but instead of increasing the weight every workout increase it every 2wk cycle so you get used to the exercises .
so you would do
2wk 15s
increase weight
2wks 10s
increase weight
2 wks 5s
sd then start a real HST cycle and you should have your maxes.good luck
cool.gif
biggrin.gif

Like Faz, my advice would be to do an HST cycle but only after you have spent a month or so learning good form in all the exercises you intend to use in a program. Good form is vital if you are to avoid injuries later on and will be time well spent. It takes time to develop the required muscular coordination for many free weight exercises.

Assuming you are going to do a full body workout three times a week, I would spend a month doing exercises with 15 reps and a month doing the same exercises with 10 reps.