New to HST

joelondon

Hi there guys,

Im new to HST and the site, used to do a lot of circuit training and now turning my attentions to getting big! I'm planning to focus primarily on the program on the HST site ( sets of 10 3 x a week) and was looking for any pointers/adivce to accompany the training and also the principles of the training program.

Thanks

Joe

Howdy sir,

My suggestions before beginning your first HST routine:

* Determine a body of exercises you want to use for your routine, and post that routine here.  People can offer a critique and potential modifications to make sure you get the most out of your routine.

* After figuring out a group of exercises to perform, take a week or so to determine 15, 10, and 5 rep maxes for all of these exercises.

* After doing this, based on how long you've been training (the longer you've been training, the longer your "strategic deconditioning" should be prior to your HST cycle), take no less than ~9 days completely off resistance training of any form.

* Begin your HST cycle after this time off, and feel free to post here regularly for advice/tips/suggestions/etc.

thanks for the prompt response mate. Im follwing the full body HST routine (10reps) suggested on the website to begin with. However, im unsure how the principle works. Do i do three sets of 10 rep maximum initially?

<div>
(joelondon @ Aug. 15 2008,6:31)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Im follwing the full body HST routine (10reps) suggested on the website to begin with. However, im unsure how the principle works. Do i do three sets of 10 rep maximum initially?</div>
Sorry, Joe, you've lost me. I am not familiar with the 10 rep routine to which you refer. I've never heard of doing three sets of 10 rep maximum.