Newbie-Excercises help

twilightburl

I'm relatively new to weight training (3 months), and I'm interested in trying the HST program. . Up until now I've primarily   been using heavy weights (5-8 reps of max)and have been focusing on too many isolation excercises I think.  I've had a few minor injuries because of this I think, but they've  healed                                                                              I'm 5'11 and 215 lb. with about 20% BF.  
I like the idea of using compound excercises primarily because I'd like to have a well rounded physique and strength, but I'm only able to do a couple pullups and and a few dips
 I'm not able to follow the program because of this (Ex. 15 pullups and dips in first 2 weeks)  Should I wait to start the HST program until I'm able to do at least 15 reps of these excercises?  This seems like the only thing holding me back from HST.  Any feedback appreciated!

<div>
(twilightburl @ Apr. 23 2008,11:45)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I'm relatively new to weight training (3 months), and I'm interested in trying the HST program. . Up until now I've primarily been using heavy weights (5-8 reps of max)and have been focusing on too many isolation excercises I think. I've had a few minor injuries because of this I think, but they've healed I'm 5'11 and 215 lb. with about 20% BF.
I like the idea of using compound excercises primarily because I'd like to have a well rounded physique and strength, but I'm only able to do a couple pullups and and a few dips
I'm not able to follow the program because of this (Ex. 15 pullups and dips in first 2 weeks) Should I wait to start the HST program until I'm able to do at least 15 reps of these excercises? This seems like the only thing holding me back from HST. Any feedback appreciated!</div>