Newbie with questions

sandy77uk

Hi all

I'm new to HST and to be honest the whole lifting scene, I started doing the SL 5x5 routine back in April and have really enjoyed it, however I'm hearing lots of really good things about HST and the specific layout and knowing what I will be doing for 6 weeks really appeals to be me. I'm going on holiday at the end of this month.

is it viable to work out my 15's -10's and 5's and then use that holiday as a period of SD ready for HST when i come back?

I've been reading the main HST page and it talks about the different types of exercises and suggests a sample routine, ie. legs alternates between leg press and squats (can I just drop leg press and do squats each day?, I love doing Deadlifts, so is it viable to alternate squats and deads, or is that not enough impact on the legs?) also bicep curls (can I do close grip, underhand chins to hit the biceps rather than dumb or barbells?)

There doesnt seem to be a "if you are a newbie, do the following strictly till you understand what you are doing"

so I'm looking for advice as i've just confused myself by reading the same guides on the main page

Thanks in advance

James

I too am new to HST and am finishing my 1st week of 10's. I have been doing Squat-Deadlift-Squat and repeat for the 6 parts of each two week period. One bit of advice - limit your DL's to only 1 set. They are great, but sap too much of your energy for the remainder of the workout.

Hi all

I'm new to HST and to be honest the whole lifting scene, I started doing the SL 5x5 routine back in April and have really enjoyed it, however I'm hearing lots of really good things about HST and the specific layout and knowing what I will be doing for 6 weeks really appeals to be me. I'm going on holiday at the end of this month.

is it viable to work out my 15's -10's and 5's and then use that holiday as a period of SD ready for HST when i come back?