Number of sets/exercises

Demonic Baboon

I'm going to start with 15s next week and I'm not sure how many sets I should be doing per body part. I've seen on various parts of the site that the general rule is doing 1-2 sets per exercise (depending on which part of the cycle you're on) at 2 exercises per body part. I was wondering, for muscle groups like the legs and back, should I increase the number of exercises from 2 to 3?

Also, what is your opinion about not doing arms during 15s and instead doing compound exercises that involve the arms for chest, shoulders, and back? I want to take full advantage of HST when I start, and I was just wondering if doing six sets a week of just back, legs, chest, abs, and shoulders was enough to induce to best amount of hypertrophy, especially seeing how my arms are my weakest point.

To give you some background, I've been lifting for a couple years and have had trouble making more than mediocre gains. I've been told the problem is overtraining even though I've never experienced any of the obvious symptoms (joint pain, listlessness, being too tired to train, inability to sleep, etc.)...well, except for the crappy gains part. :confused:

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]Hey :)

This is simply another volume thread - that is, "how much volume" is the issue, this tme in the early 10's when the weights are light.

Again, the answer is the same: the amount of volume you should do is the maximum that you can manage. Generally, the answer to volume questions are: Do as much as you can.

Again, for the sake of avoiding confusion, as much as you can means:
1.) You don't go to failure
2.) You don't compromise your ability to train frequently.