Post workout nutrition while cutting

windjammer

I was wondering if it is a good idea to consume carbs after a workout while cutting? I have read that it is good to eat fruit / juice after a workout as this replenishes glycogen or something, but during cutting will this inhibit fat burning? Also, would it be smart to consume creatine while cutting? I found this product which has no sugar but a new form of carbs that is supposed to maximize creatine uptake...

http://www.bodybuilding.com/store/nutrex/vitargo.html

I am no expert on cutting but plan to run a cut early next year, maybe even on HST. Your understanding of the post workout complex carb loading is correct, it will replenish your muscle glycogen stores and help facilitate recovery. I do not believe that this feeding will result in a conversion to fat as long as it is done within the one hour window after the workout and you arent doing something wild like eating a whole chocolate cake. I have done a post workout carb load for a long time now and have had no issues of undue weight / fat gain. I believe this is because the body is scavenging for carbs during this time period and the uptake goes directly to the blood stream to the muscles due to the depleted glycogen state the body is in.

My post workout shake is 16 - 20 oz 2% milk, two scoops whey protein, one scoop of powdered milk (looking to add some more milk protein sources for slow digestion since I workout in the evening), one whole banana and three table spoons of good old Hershey's chocolate syrup. I blend it all up with 6 - 8 ice cubes and it makes a very cold and thick shake that is actually pleasant to drink.

(Not looking forward to the cut. Wildman likes to eat big and lift big but I know I need to get rid of about 45# to reach my own personal goal of 280# body weight. I dont want to be super thin and cold all the time. Heh. I used to run ten miles easily at 280# and really felt very good at that weight.)