progressive load-isolation exercises

dzidzia

Hi to everyone,i am new to hst,at this moment i am in the week of finding my RM's.I have done the 15's yesterday.After reading some threads i am already confused about some things...

Dumbell flyes are not good for hst because it is an isolation exercise and i should better not do them in the week of 5's? Same question for barbell or dumbell curls..why is it bad for 5's?

How is it possible to progress on dumbell shoulder presses when the 15 RM is 14 kg and when i will start after SD with 75% of 14kg that will be then 10.5 kg??? and so on with 80% will be 11.2 kg?well,i don't know but i have never seen dumbells with that weight.

Very confusing,should i do then only barbells,seems so limited then because i like and prefer dumbells..especially for chest presses an shoulders.
Hopefully can someone give me some to the point answers.
Thanks in advance.

Isolation exercises are not forbidden in HST but there are several reasons they are not usually recommended.

First, vanilla HST is based on 3 full body workouts each week. In order to get a full body workout done in less than an hour especially when the weights get heavy the number of exercises should be kept to a minimum 8-10 is the general recommendation. Since compound exercises work out more muscles per unit time they are just more efficient.

Second, the greater the difference between the starting weight (as long as its heavy enough or around 70-75% of your 1 RM) and the ending weight for an exercises the greater the potential for inducing hypertrophy by progressively loading more weight throughout your cycle. Since people can lift more using a BB for the same motion as DBs, BBs will allow for more weight progression.

Third, doing very heavy isolation exercises that allow you to only get less than about 8 reps is extremely hard on your joints (tendons and ligaments) so isolation exercises during the last part of the 5s is just asking for problems in the long run.