Pros and cons of changing exercises ea cycle

Hardrock

What are the pros and cons of changing exercises each cycle? I know it is a highly individual thing as to which exercises work best for you, but there is a lot of conflicting information out there depending on which program you train with. Since I'm new to HST I would be interested in how this applies with this program.

Hardrock,

Cons, neural learning, less coincidental strength. These stongly relate to hypertrophy.

Pros, may work (if plane of motion is different) on different targets in same muscle group, relieves boredom. These do not strongly correlate to hypertrophy.

I was thinking of changing my exercises on my next cycle to do what I like to call my "corrective cycle". I noticed some serious imbalances that I would like to target for a cycle. Any objections? I still plan on keeping the core movements, squat, dead lifts, bench, etc but adding things like plate drags, prone rows, crunches, etc to strengthen whats falling behind. Also if I'm just trying to strengthen my abs and not get them bigger is ok to do situps (b/w only) everyday or should I limit them to every other day?

Also could you take like db military presses and db curls and combine them into cuban presses or should you do seperate exercises for shoulder and bi's? I'm trying to combine some exercises into one. My db military press and bicep curl maxs are the same weight so I figured I could do this to save some time.

Thanks for the advice in advance

How could anyone object to you wanting to correct a known deficiency? If you know your weak points then change but unless it changes recruitment you are only adding a new exercise that has to be "learned" by the nervous system.

Combining movements, sure why not saves time, I mean the OL uses combines movements and some of them guys are pretty big. But they've been practiving those movements for some time so they are way passed the learning curve.

Sun-tzu san