question about the 3x5 volume

Stl_Lift

Greetings all. Im new to HST will be starting next week. After lifting a standard 4 day split for the past 6 years i am very interested in something new.<O:p</O:p
<O:p</O:p
My question though pertains to the load on the 3x5 block. Take squats for example; if my 10 rep max on squats is 190lbs and this is what I’ll be doing 2 sets of 10 with on week 12, then why on week 13 would I go back down to 170lbs for 3 sets of 5? Both volume and load increases between the 15rep and 10rep weeks, but decreases for the last week.<O:p</O:p
My max squat (strict form) is 255lbs so running all the numbers it looks like total volume is down for the last block and load is only up the last three workouts.<O:p</O:p
Did I make sense? Thanks for the help<O:p</O:p

My question though pertains to the load on the 3x5 block. Take squats for example; if my 10 rep max on squats is 190lbs and this is what I’ll be doing 2 sets of 10 with on week 12, then why on week 13 would I go back down to 170lbs for 3 sets of 5? Both volume and load increases between the 15rep and 10rep weeks, but decreases for the last week.
It’s not a requirement to zigzag weight increments like that or drop the volume it just happens to be what seems to work out for a lot of people. You could as I do use linier progression for your weight increased but that might mean using smaller increments especially on the weaker lifts, or using less increments. You can also repeat the same increment twice since it’s going to take longer than two workouts for your body to adapt to each load and stop making gains.

Some people like to zigzag because they push for a new rep max at the end of the 15s and the 10s going all the way to failure to test what strength increases they’ve made. When doing this they welcome the slight deload to aid in recovery from going to failure.