Questions about muscle condititioning

G T

I've been using HST for a few months now with two weeks of strategic deconditioning in between. My first HST cycle was the "sorest" when I began, then the muscle soreness gradually faded away. I started my third HST cycle a bit over a week ago and have had very little soreness. Does this mean I'm not spending enough time on strategic deconditioning?

Secondly, what is required to "condition" a muscle in real terms? Ie., how much use can a muscle have before it is conditioned to the extent that the same stimulus won't cause it to grow? Will carrying heavy objects around for a day or two ruin SD? Will doing a max at the start of an HST cycle ruin that cycle?

although many of us associate soreness as a sign of a good workout. it is not an indicator of muscle growth. i hardly ever felt sore while doing hst, due to the fact i wasnt training to failure or using high volume.and to an extent, the conditioning of my muscles .

Are you retesting your maxes at the end of your cycles? Just checking to be sure.

As lcars said, soreness (or lack thereof) is not necessarily an indicator of muscle growth. Don't worry about it too much. You could always try increasing the volume a bit if you are concerned.

I try to max a few lifts at the end of the cycle, such as bench and squat, and others I tend to estimate for the next. I usually complete my 5s in about 4 weeks and don't do negs, because I feel burned out. I'm doing it every second day without taking a two day break on the weekend, and doing two sets of a total of 6 exercises each workout, which is 42 sets/week. Do I have a weak CNS?

Also, I'd like to know if anyone is able to answer the second question?

<div>
(G T @ Nov. 01 2008,8:19)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Ie., how much use can a muscle have before it is conditioned to the extent that the same stimulus won't cause it to grow?</div>