Questions about work out going fast

mazmonsters

Greetings all. I have researched this website all last week, did my homework and found that you all seem to know a good deal about what you are talking about. I decided to give HST a go, and I started on my first cylce today. I have all my routine planned out according to what Bryan has laid out, and also from some of your advice. I have been lifting on and off for several years. I did the Body For Life program a few years back and this sparked my interest in Body Building. It was a good program, but now I am more interested in bulking up.
My workout went extremely fast today, and this is not what I'm used to. I am used to 45-60 min. Today, after a 5 min warm up on the stairs, I hit everything in under 25 min. Is this normal? I'm on my first week of 15's.
Here is what I did:
Squats: 2 sets, resting for about 45 seconds in between.
Incline Bench: 2 sets, resting for 45 sec. in between.
Chin ups: 1 set of reverse close hand, rest 1 min, then 1 set of regular close hand.
Military Press: 2 sets with about 50 sec rest between.
Abs: 1 set of weighted crunches. Rest 45 sec. 1 set of reverse hypers.
Tricep pushdows: 1 set.
Straight bar curls: 1 set.
I rested for only about 1 min max between excercises. I feel pretty good, a little tired, but not smoked. I should sleep well tonight. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks guys.

That's pretty typical for your first workout of the 15's. They don't kill you and you don't need to rest much between sets.

Post again after your final workout of 15's.
biggrin.gif

Looks like a solid program to me. Personally, I would add a set of shrugs as my traps have always lagged a bit (I have a "long" neck) and maybe switch the tricep pushdowns to dips. A 30 minute workout is good.

Ok, thanks for your input guys.
I will post again in 2 weeks.