Questions for Someone knowledgeable about HST

I am fairly new to weight lifting, about 6 months. Usual, 3 times a week thing. I have gained about 13 pounds so far and am still what I would consider very lean at 5'9", 170. I am 40 so, so far, so good even though I see other people grow much faster at this stage. About to split my routine but after reading about HST thinking of giving it a try instead.

At the beginning of the rep range when the weights are lower, it seems not to be a maximal effort(In other sports, "champions work hard every day , blah, blah, blah"). why would you not use more sets for lactic acid preparing the joints or whatever ?

Could you comment on what I keep reading that for weight gain, squats, deadlift, bench, shrug, with heavy weights ? Is there any research which shows this is best ?

I apologize in advance if these are already covered, please direct me, I could not find them.

Thanks in advance

GiNorm

Welcome GiNorm,
Let me give this a shot but others should chime in too.
1) At 40 you can grow like a weed -- so don't worry
2)  The work harder ethic is true to a degree --but miss applied it can hurt you through overtraining, burn out, injury etc. Or it is often the excuse for a bad program not working.  Believe me if you do HST right you will be working hard.
3) You do not do more sets/rep in the 15s so that your subsequent micro cycles are progressive.  So you can do one set of 15 in your fifteenss,  two sets of 10 in your tens, and three sets of 5 in your fives (still 15 reps)   If you did 2 sets in your 15s that is 30 reps and you would be doing many fewer reps in your following cycles -- so that is not progression.

Think of total reps -- don't think of sets. The idea is to keep your total reps about the same through out the marco cycle so that the incrimental increase in weight has its desired effect on your muscles.