Questions, questions, questions

ian

I posted earlier this month regarding the fact that I had never managed to carry out a full course of HST as I prefer training to the point of collapse.

Since then (due to me being very quiet in work) I have had the chance to read over your responses, other posts, the HST FAQs, interviews with Bryan etc and have begun to realise that I really do need to give this system a go.

I suppose the ‘change of mind moment’ was reading about Bryan and how he trained (using similar methods to me for years) and after initial gains he plateaud. It then started to dawn on me that I have plateaud over recent years. My initial growth was prolonged after I started training with serious power lifters and bodybuilders and by the age of 19/20 living a life of gym, eat and sleep I was about as good as it gets for my natural self.

Since then (I’m 24 now) I have not progressed any further. I've basically stayed around the same weight, I have simply spent time 'training not gaining' (i'm going to patent that phrase, it rules!!! Sounds like something out of dodgeball!!!).
The more I read on the more I realised I go to the gym and kill myself without gaining strength, I look the same in the mirror, i know longer hear ‘have you got bigger?’ ...... my mum has even stopped telling me I’m getting too big!!!

So I’m going to give HST a full on go….
I’m going to follow it to the letter, I’m going to do everything right, I’m going to take measurements, maybe even the odd picture so that I know exactly how and where I’m growing.

The plan is to spend the next three weeks working out my rep maxes and gaining enough knowledge to carry out HST correctly, so I’m going to start asking a series of questions on this post and hope you guys can help.

I appreciate you all probably get these stories and questions again and again... so apologies and thanks in advance,

Ian