Recovery for those over 50

Sonny

Howdy Bro’s

I’ve been looking for any research about recovery for guys over 50.
I’ve found some, but it is for those who haven’t worked out nearly all their lives like me.
None of it fits my situation.
I’ve been a BB’er since I was in my early teens and I’m 56 now.
Been doing HST since 04 and still going strong.
I’m in better shape that most 30 yo’s that I meet. Since most never wo.

Hey Dan and Brian.
tounge.gif

Sonny

Eat a cow
Save a chicken .

Deus unus me iudicare potest

Hi Sonny

I have been lifting for over 50 years and am now 63. I find that less volume and frequency is required or I "overtrain" or "under-recover". Now I work each major body part twice per week with a typical bodypart getting 1 set of 4 different exercises two times per week. Bi's and Tri's only get two sets each per week since they are over-developed anyway.

Have your test levels checked. I did and they came in at 70 ng/dl which is probably lower than some active women. Ergo, Androgel came to my rescue and I now run in the 800 ng/dl range which is no where near assisted body builder levels but is the high end of the normal range and very high for an old fart. I immediately noticed a pick up in strength, recoverability, libido and desire to work out again at peak levels.

Also, despite what some doctors say, I find I need more sleep now than when I was younger. Under 7 hours and I will nod off in the afternoon. I try and go for 9 hours.

I also avoid a lot of simple carbs. They sap my energy.

My cycles usually last about 6 weeks and then I take a full 14 day SD. I don't have a lot of growth left in me but it sure is nice to maintain what I have with very little effort. I could probably cut down to once per week and maintain but I think my endurance would suffer.

Welcome back old hoss.

Bob

<div>