Rest Intervals.

chavda21

Hi all. i'm new to the HST game, looks very interesting and also looks beneficial in terms of not missing a muscle group if you miss a workout.

When looking over the HST notes, it came to my attention that although only doing 2 sets on compounds and 1 on isolation seems short, the WHOLE workout itself seems as if it will take over 45 minutes.

so my question is how long should I rest between sets and muscle groups?

Because ideally i want to be in and out of the gym in well under an hour, so my IGH and testosterone have been fully utilised.

Thnakx!

My impression is that most people base their rest time on the rep range they're in, and what % of their max for that range they're at.  Shorter rest times during the 15's (60-90 secs), longer rest times during the 5's (2 - 3 min).

Thanks for that. makes sense, bit of a silly question considering im a 2 yr undergrad of sport science.

well, considering the rest intervals are obviously longer for the 10's and 5's...

as we work down from the max rep (MR) in increments. why would we only perform say 10 reps on 70kg bench when we can actually bench 90kg for 10.....make sense?

sorry when i meant work back in increments i meant when using the HST calculator ..not ACTUALLY training backwards.

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">As we work down from the max rep (MR) in increments. why would we only perform say 10 reps on 70kg bench when we can actually bench 90kg for 10.....make sense?</div>

It has to do with avoiding RBE from catching up with you,you only do your repmax on thelast day every two weeks.
wink.gif

so basically every session (which is around 3 in a week) you increase the weight by 5kg for example untill day 6 which is on a fornight friday for example would be when you lift your max for that rep range?...

o and sorry for the ignorance but wat the hecs RBE?

biggrin.gif

Depends on how heavy you are working in your training cycle.