sarcomeric or sarcoplamatic hypertrophy?

maxy

Hi guys, it´s been a long time since I have posted here, but i have been reading the FAQ and I have some questions to clarify (and remember that my inglish is not that good:-)

I notice that that there are 2 kimd of hypertrophy, one that add more volume ´cause the add of "sarcomeres" to the myofiber and the other add mopre volume because the cell must store more glycogen to acomplish the big amount of sets per body part. This last kind of hypertrophy is also know as "bodybuilding hypertrophy" and the first one is also know as "sportman hypertrophy".

If this is correct, i think that HST works towards the 1st kind rather than the 2nd. I have been training with HST style for near 4 or 5 months and I have noticed some variations in my weight near the 5 block of reps and I think it´s because the less volume, the less glycogen the muscle needs. I am right now at the 2nd negative block of 2 weeks and I have started to do some "drop sets" and I feel big this way.

So, my question is, does HST gains come from the 1st or the 2nd kind of hypertrophy? May be in the 15´s and 10´s block of reps the muscle grows ´cause the 2nd kind of hypertrophy and in the 5´s and negatives blocks the muscle grows ´cause the 1st kind.

I hope you understand what i mean, i know i need more practice writing in inglish ;-)

maxy

Maxy,

I have forever wondered a very similar question:

Why do strength athletes - football players, Olympic lifters, etc. look different than bodybuilders?