Smith machine ok?

JSmith

The gym I belong to has three of these and only one free squat rack. So most of the time the free rack is being used and I end up using the Smith machine. Since I always start off with my squats. I notice when I do get to use the free rack it feels a little better on my back.

I take it your feeling is free is better. Also the set I have at home (Body Solid) is a smith machine also. I am just starting out so I guess it's better than nothing. For the bench I using DB

John

You aren't using the stabilizer muscles that you would normally be using on a free rack. If you work out with that for a long period of time, and try to use similar weight on a free rack later on, your lower back will pay the price. I'd certainly say it's better than nothing, and if that's all you have at the house then I understand, but I would def. try to use the free rack.

I've never actually used a Smith, and damn, that video made sure I'll never use a thumbless bench grip. That could have killed him, and no doubt did some damage!

I can see how a smith machine could be a useful tool for bodybuilding. But then I think about doing the same thing with a real, free-weight barbell and the smith machine just seems like a pussie-way of doing it. But thats just me.

I think I would only use a Smith machine for calf raises and shrugs

If you have room for a Smith machine at home why not just get a rack and a bar instead? So much more versatile. Now I should shut up and get on with building mine!
smile.gif

I started off doing squats with a smith machine simply because that was what was available to me.

It was a whole different world when I finally was able to start doing squats freely.

It's better than nothing, but given the choice, I'll never do them on a smith machine again.

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I am just starting out so I guess it's better than nothing</div>