Static Holds - Substitute for Negatives ?

Moonglum

Now go easy on me guys ! Remember I'm new to this
smile.gif

Although I'm still on my 15's, I've been thinking ahead to the 5's and the progression of overload i.e. the negative block after peaking with your 5RM.

I think I will find it difficult to do negs on many of my exercises, but I would be able to do static holds with say 110% or more of my 5RM.

So my question is - are they an acceptable substitute for the negs as they provide TUT with an increased load ? If so - what portion of the movement should I hold for the various exercises ? I realise that I will be stronger, and hence could hold more weight, in certain positions eg on the leg press a slight bend of the knees will allow you to hold greater weight for longer than holding at the midpoint etc.

Alternatively I could do a second block of 5's ?

Help me out guys !

So I load up with say 110% of 5RM and do 20 reps with increasing interrep pauses to combat accumulating fatigue and allow sufficient TUT. Got it.

Although I would still like to know what people here think of statics.

Not a very good substitute for negatives. Not saying they won't be beneficial at all. It's just that they are no substitute for negatives. No range of motion involved. This means they may benefit some exercises more than others. And in those exercises, it may be effective only for a certain muscle group, not necessarily all muscle groups involved in a normal rep of that lift.

Just my 0.02.

Regards,
-JV

Yup, studies suggest that strong isometric contractions are beneficial but not as beneficial for hypertrophy as concentric and eccentric contractions. This has been discussed here many times so I'm sure a search will throw up more info and some studies. DC training adds isos and stretches at the end of regular sets to, hopefully, increase strain and TUT a bit more. I find heavy bb static holds with a regular grip are good for grip training.