Training Frequency - more is better?

skunker

Hey folks,
I'm self-employed, so I can literally workout anytime/anyday of the week, as many times as I want. Therefore, I was wondering how many times I should work out since I have lots of time available. I just browsed the HST FAQ and saw this:

"Training once every 7 days will still allow you to grow, it just takes longer for the gains to accumulate. Training more frequently is more efficient if your goal is just to get bigger"

Okay, I don't want to be a workout-aholic, but I do want to gain results as fast as possible. I've been lifting for at least 5 years off and on, and I'm 26 years old. Now, is it really true that the more you volume you lift a week + frequency = big gains fast?

Whatever happened to the belief of overtraining? I keep hearing that you should rest more, etc.

I saw a poll here cently where most of you guys are lifting like 6x a week. I don't think I can find the motivation to keep doing that every week.

thoughts?

<div>
(skunker @ Sep. 14 2006,11:47)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I don't think I can find the motivation to keep doing that every week.</div>
If you already have decided you won't be able to do something, you are undoubtedly right. Why plan to fail? It doesn't matter what is better. What matters is what your can do. Pick a workout frequency that will motivate you.

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I saw a poll here cently where most of you guys are lifting like 6x a week.</div>
What does a good/healthy 6x a week program look like?

The thing is Skunker, it is a case of diminishing returns. After all, there's only so much your body can grow in a week however perfect your training and calorie consumption is. The more you work out the harder it will be to keep fatigue at bay.