Volume

mickc1965

I am relatively new to HST (well near completion of 1[SUP]st[/SUP] cycle – 2 days of 5’s left) and wondered if my volume is too high (particularly in the 5RM, muscles are OK but feeling exhausted the following day), I am 48 years old and have been training regularly for two years and weigh in the region of 187lbs. My current workload is based on an ‘A’ and ‘B’ routine as follows

Routine A - Front Squats, Barbell Flat Bench, Barbell Upright Row, Wide Lat pull downs, Front Shoulder Press (Smith Machine), Leg Press, Calf Raise, Leg Extensions, Close Grip Smith Machine (Triceps) and Concentration Curls.

Routine B – Dead Lifts, Barbell Incline Bench, Shrugs, Seated Row, Rear Shoulder Press (Smith Machine), Back extensions, Leg Curls, Single leg calf raise, Tricep Kickbacks and High Cable Curls

Each Rep range is based on 3 days per week over 2 weeks – two sets per exercise on 15’s and 10’s and 4 sets on 5’s with anywhere between 20 seconds and 1 minutes rest between sets with the weight increments of 80% / 90% / 100% of the projected 5, 10 and 15RM. I can confirm that all the RM ranges were tested before I started the routine and I have generally added 2.5kgs to the new projected RM and currently the 5RM routine is taking between 60 and 70 minutes to complete depending on how busy the gym is.

Currently consuming between 2500 and 3000 calories daily - 50% carbs, 30 – 35% protein and 15 to 20% fat.

Why are you only resting for 20-60 seconds between sets during the 5s? That's just crazy. 5s require 2-3 minutes rest between sets minimum.