Calorie balance

tcc2

If you increased your calorie intake to match the extra calories burnt by additional HST workouts (i.e. going from 3 to 6 weekly workouts) so your bodyweight did not change over the course of the more frequent cycle,

are you just wasting your time?

or will you improve your body composition?

[b said:
Quote[/b] (tcc2 @ July 09 2003,12:45)]are you just wasting your time?
Yep.

UNLESS you want to remain constant, that is. If you want to cut, you have to have a calorie deficit. If you want to gain, you need surplus. Most of what you do pretty much comes down to simply that.

Just my 2 cents.

You may ultimately adjust your body composition, but if you are lean, or have been at it a fair while, it aint gonna happen at a measurable rate.
IF your fat, and or a newbie, you can alter your composition nicely while eating maintenance calories

I'm not a newbie and I'm not too fat either (by my standards, at least - 13% bf). So I guess I'll have to find ways to eat more.

My first HST cycle was a bulking cycle and I added 8 pounds by eating approx. 3100 kcals / day. I measured the gains to be half muscle and half fat.

Second cycle I cut 10 pounds by eating about 2300 kcals / day. I measured it to be 80/20 fat to muscle lost.

I going to have to do some new calculations. I have been eating 2950 this first week of my third cycle without any bodyweight change. I'd like to finish the cycle 6 pounds heavier with a better muscle to fat gained ratio - something like 4 pounds of muscle added to 2 pounds fat this time. Maybe if I bump the calories up slowly (100 extra per day) and see where that takes me next week.

The problem with trying to add so slowly is that it is difficult to see week by week. It's almost easier to just pile on the fat and strip it away later.