Help w/ a HIIT routine

• Thread starter Thread starter imported_delphi23
  • Start date Start date
I

imported_delphi23

I am new to the HIIT concept. I have done some research and read about things like the Tabatta protocol, etc. I am thinking of incorporating HIIT into my workouts rather than longer term cardio. Can anyone suggest a good routine for a relative beginner with this.

For instance, how long should the increments be? 20 seconds? 30 seconds? A minute? And how many increments? 4? 8? And lastly, is it better to do something like level 3 (on an exercise bike say) then goto level 8 or to go level 3 - level 4 - level 3 - level 5, etc?

I'm thinking of either using a recumbent bike or an eliptical trainer. I hate treadmills. They kill my knees.

Any opinions?

Can I expand on delphi's request and ask for someone experienced to post a HIIT routine for beginners please?

i do this on a treadmill but you can use the same principal on any machine...4 mins warmup 1min level8,1min level9,1min level8,1min level10,1min level8,1min level 11,...and so on untill you have had enought or you cant go any higher..it doesnt have to be 1min it can be 2or3. :D

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Jester @ June 29 2005,5:29)]I thought there was a progressive element across the sessions?
its high, intensity, interval ,training,...you do progress from level 8 to 16.but you have a 1min recovery time every min.it gives you time to recover so you can go higher..if you just kept gouing higher you would fatigue to quickly,its also called fartlek training.

Actually Fartlek training is a little different from interval training in that it is not so rigid in its design. In interval training the person will run a given distance in a given time with a given rest. In Fartlek training there is no predetermined schedule to follow, but instead the athlete will set their own interval lengths and pace in response to their own feeling of the workload.