15 rm

tdog47304

I have found my RM's and am finishing up my 15's. What I have found is that I have been able to complete 2 sets of 15 up until the second to last workout. I completed 1 set of 15 for each exercise then I went back to each exercise and completed a set of 12-15. I wasn't able to complete 2 sets of 15 back-to-back when the weights started getting close to my RM, but by doing just 1 set of 15 for all exercises - then going back to do another set, my muscles had more time to rest or "reset" and I was able to complete another set. I could have completed 15 reps on most but I stopped at 12. I was surprised that when I hit about 10 I could still keep going and it threw me off guard. Anyway - this has worked well for me.
On the last workout of the 15 set cycle (sorry if I am using the wrong terms, I am new at this program) I felt that I could have pushed out a couple more reps. If this is the case, should I add one more workout to increase my 15 rep max? And I know we don't train to failure, but when we get to our final Rep Max, should that workout go to failure? If not - how else can we judge what our RM is if we don't give it all we got?
Thanks for your time.

Adding an additional session to test your new max would be a great idea. But you don't have to. Your 15 rep max (aka - your strength) went up, whether or not you test it.

After I get past the 15s, I usually start trying to beat my prior RMs by the end of each rep phase. So, let's say I have 150 lbs as my 10 rep max, but I feel like I've gotten stronger and my 15 rep max felt easier than I expected. I'll try to lift 155 or 160 on the 6th 10 rep workout to see if I have increased my RM.

In fact, I'm almost constantly modifying my workout. I make changes based on how I feel it is going, my other obligations outside the gym, recovery, etc.