1st Cycle of HST nearing completion - My experience

lxh89

Briefly about me, I started lifting April'13 again at age 39. Last time I seriously did weights was late 80s, early 90s in high school. Up until I did HST recently, I did a cycle of 2 sets of 10 reps then a stint doing reverse pyramid training.

Remarkably, I regained my previous size/strength maxes within 6 months from high school days and surpassed them slightly then plateaued. I then found HST and wanted to try it out. Keeping in mind, in high school I weighed 165lbs and now I'm at 205lbs so im heavier which contributed some to the strength gains I believe.

For my 1st cycle I did a 15, 10, 5, 3RM routine. In terms of results, I definitely gained size during the 15s,10s phases but that tapered off during 5s/3s. I stuck with 1 set during 15s, 2 during 10s and 3 during the 5s and 3s.

I noticed my 2nd week of 5s I was losing strength so I skipped a workout entirely as I could tell I wasnt recovering properly. When I hit my final 5s workout, I had regained my strength and was easily able to complete 3 sets (still had more and could have done more reps). I'm now in the final week of 3s and the overtraining feeling is back. I really struggled this morning so did a single set to limit volume (aid recovery).

I did the following routine (which in hindsight was too many exercises):
6 day upper/lower split
Upper (in this order): Flat Barbell Bench, Pendlay Rows, Standing Military Press, Wide Grip Pullups, Dips, Lateral Raises and Dumbbell Curls
Lower (in this order): Back Squat, Leg Curl, Seated Calf Raises, Deadlift, Farmer's Carry and Abs (mix of weight/bodyweight exercises)

My chest, arms, back and legs grew noticably. Unfortunately, I didn't measure but I was out on vacation for 4 weeks and when I returned to work my colleagues noticed immediately. One even asked me if I was taking steroids.