A bit of confusion

need2eat

So heres the deal.

I find my 15,10,5 rep max.

Enter that into the calculator per each exercise.

Then just do it.

How would this make me stronger, if Im doing what I can already do?

Say I wanna do it again, how much do I add to the weekly rep max's or do I have to test myself again?

Thanks

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">How would this make me stronger, if Im doing what I can already do?</div>

Nobody said it would for sure but it is a common &amp; desirable side effect! It will cause hypertrophy!

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Say I wanna do it again, how much do I add to the weekly rep max's or do I have to test myself again?</div>

You should have a pretty good indication during negatives as to how much stronger you got, so you would just use the new weight, technically speaking, the same percentage of increase would be used for all rep schemes.

not that I am an expert on this by any means...

I couldn't do the drop sets due to not having a training partner and the best I can come up with for a spotter is my 12 yo son. (hey if not anything he can strip the weights off while the bar is lying on my throat) What I found was by the time I got to my second two weeks of 5's I was considerably stronger. So I'd progress the weight each workout until I found my absolute max. And each time it went up quite nicely. So by the time I was ready to start my next cycle I had a new starting point for my maxes.

BTW...the last cycle I did...I went from starting with a max of 205 on my bench for 5 and went all the way up to 235 for 5. Damn what a great feeling it was to finally put up 4 plates. Just looking at the bar with two 45's on each side was a rush for me.

Good luck

Hey FireFighter, great lifting! I know what you mean about the mental breakthrough when you hit a new max. It's a great encouragement.