Avoiding Neck Injuries...

terraƒractaL

Hi all. I've been doing HST exclusively for about six years now. Once I started there was no going back; I really love it. I've been making solid gains and am now starting to push weight that is fairly heavy for me. I'm 6'2, wiry build ; I now weigh 203 with about 11% body fat - my max 8% body fat on Bryan's calculator is 203.

In the past I have very rarely encountered injuries; I used to warm up with light cardio / half weight and lower reps first set but stopped doing that some time ago for time concerns (already doing 33 sets for 5s).

However in the last couple of months I have experienced two neck injuries, once doing upright rows (which I knew were bad but did anyway...no more of those), and the last time a couple of weeks ago doing classic military presses. Both times it was the same muscle in my neck (Splenius cervicis muscle), which made a "tingly popping" feeling when the injury occurred (best way I can describe it...not painful at all, but I knew for sure it was a full blown injury). Afterwards it would hurt to look left or sit up after lying down on my right side (among other movements) for about a week.

I am very dedicated and feel the only thing stopping me now would be these types of injuries happening more and more frequently. When I lift I always push or pull as hard as I can (as per HST principles) and can feel my neck straining all the time; sometimes it feels like the same injury is going to occur even though it doesn't; it's pretty scary. No other body part has even close to this type of feeling; everything else feels great 100%.

I realize I need to start warming up again, etc. and I have started doing neck movements before lifting, but am afraid when I get to the heavy weight again in the 5s it's going to happen again. Just wanted to ask if there was anything else I could do to prevent this, or if anyone else has experienced this. Thanks.

As you noted, avoid doing the movements that induced the pain.