extending the 10's

kidkurious

can i extend the 10's for another week if I feel that my 10RM wasn't my true RM?

Or should I continue to the 5's, and simply increase the 10RM load for my next cycle?

While I'm no expert on HST I would have thought it would be best to extend your 10's for another week if you can. This will give you another week of growth, you should still be able to up the weight in your next cycle of 10's (though you would probably also have to adjust the weight of your 5's this cycle to keep that progression etc . . . . and set u up for the increased weights of your next cycle). But be extra vigilant so far as overtraining goes, if you feel it after 2 sessions I'd simply move to the 5s, you don't have to do a full week.

I extend 15s, 10s, 5s up to a workout that I trully reach failure. And still, I try to beat this on the next workout. It makes me feel good.

BUT, I also risk overtraining like this. Many times I got sick just after 1-2 workouts of continusly beating old PRs. So be carefull.

I would simply add enough weight to my 7th workout so I had to hit failure. Even if you were too optimistic and added too much weight, you can always cluster the reps or use something akin to Max Stim to hit the required number of reps.

<div>
(kidkurious @ Oct. 24 2008,7:25)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">can i extend the 10's for another week</div>
yes

<div>
(kidkurious @ Oct. 25 2008,12:25)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">can i extend the 10's for another week if I feel that my 10RM wasn't my true RM?</div>
No! Oh, all right then, yes.  
tounge.gif