First week of 5s. Where to from here?

• Thread starter Thread starter imported_dman65
  • Start date Start date
I

imported_dman65

I have seen some posts indicating that some are continuing 5s past the two week period indicated by the "Official HST Method" article.

I am wondering how you go about continuing the 5s and maintaining the progressive loading principle.

On your third week of 5s do you go back to the weight that you were using on the first week and work back up? That doesn't seem to make much sense, but if you are already at your max at the end of the second week I don't know how you go up from there and continue the progression.

This is my first time using HST and while I have done some weight training since my teenage years off and on I am by no means a bodybuilder. I am a bit confused between reading the "Official HST Method" and what I see in forum posts.

I had assumed you did the same number of sets whether you were in the 15, 10, or 5 phase from the official method, but from reading posts it seems you double on 10s and triple on 5s. Just a little lost.

Hey dman65! Good to have you here on the forum. Let me see if I can't clear some things up for you.

<div></div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I have seen some posts indicating that some are continuing 5s past the two week period indicated by the &quot;Official HST Method&quot; article.

I am wondering how you go about continuing the 5s and maintaining the progressive loading principle.</div>

It is nearly always helpful to continue to use your 5RM weight for 2 or 3 weeks past the last day of your 5RM block. Though the weight will not increase during this period, the absolute weight that you will likely be using is heavy enough to elicit a good response for several weeks.

Those who wish to continue increasing the load are advised to use eccentric sets using their 2RM for sets of 5-8 for a couple weeks.