Giving HST a try, a little hazy on a few things...

turbo332

I am new to these concepts and I have decided to give HST a try. I have previously been dedicated to the 4-6 rep heavy as possible weight day in and day out. My gains got stagnant, and in the last two weeks I gave 10-12 reps and try and my joints were quite happy with me. I was then going to cycle weeks of 4-6 with weeks of 10-12 until I found this site. The results thread got my interest so I am going to begin my first cycle this week.

Joint/rest wise I feel great now, so I am opting to skip the 15's and begin with 10's. I like to change things alot too, so i want to stick with 2 week blocks for each rep scheme (I would get bored with larger blocks).
So, 2 weeks of 10's followed by two weeks of 5's followed by....?
Perhaps I need the 15's simply to make the cycle longer?

One last thing, I understand that when I complete one cycle, SD, then start another, I will start the other (hopefully) with higher Rm's than before. When will I have determined these new Rm's, if my last workout for each rep scheme was when I used my originally determined Rm's? Is there ever a time when, for example, that you are going through a given rep scheme, and then keep going PAST your previous RM's, even though the last workout for that rep scheme is supposed to be using your previous RM's? Do you only do this by extending the 5's?

I am willingly to accept that i might be able to grow using submaximal weights, and that I might also get stronger, I am just unclear as to when I am to determine my new strength?

I have done a 5x5 cycle previously (the Bill Starr program), and that involved statrting off BELOW your 5 rep max, then progressing(!) to your current 5 rep max, then attempting to BEST your previous 5 rep max.
I am now wondering when I get a chance to blast away from my old Rm's during this program.

Sorry for the length, and any help is greatly appreciated. I am very excited about beginning this program!