Honest feedback on HST

BrownsMan

I have been lifting for 35 years, so I am no novice. I have performed 3 cycles of HST and I have some thoughts to share.
1) HST is a basically good workout. I think the scientific fundamentals are sound.
2) If you are a beginner, you should follow HST as described. That said, as an experienced lifter, I DO NOT like the 2-2-4 2 week cycles for the routine. I find much more sucess in listening to my body, and performing cycles of 15, 10 and 6 reps as my body reacts, and tells me to go to lower reps. I may gain for four weeks at 10 reps or 6 weeks at 6 reps, and I do not find it productive to change just because the routine proscribes it. I move to lower reps when my body says to.I also find the rest period to be too long. Similarly, my body does not need a rest every 8 weeks. I need to rest when my body says to, and that rest very rarely lasts more than a week.

I am absolutely not being critical of HST or it's proponents. I would be interested in reading how you guys think about my thoughts...Brownsman

Hey Brownsman, good to read your thoughts. Just to clarify: HST is not a workout/routine per se but a few principles that you can apply in your training if hypertrophy is your goal (and which will inevitably lead to some strength gains too).

The way the principles can be applied, in simplest form, is seen in the basic HST program outlined here (which you have probably already read): http://www.hypertrophy-specific.com/hst_index.html