How screwed am I?How should I proceed?

Discussion in 'Hypertrophy-Specific Training (HST)' started by Myrrhman, May 19, 2012.

1. Myrrhman

Myrrhman New Member

This is my first time doing a HST cycle and I'm on my third week (ninth session) and I miscalculated my 10s RM for some exercises (tricep pulldowns, barbell curls, chin-ups) and I ended up doing my RMs for those 3 exercises today (third day of 10s cycle). In short, I did the weights of the 4th, 5th and 6th day of the 10RM cycle the first 3 days instead. Am I fuxed big time? Should I just keep using the same weight? Should I deweight? My solutions for chin-ups would be to drop the weight and do BW in the 7-8 rep, I don't know, or I could just go back to lat pulldowns.

Also, something has been bugging me for a while. In the last 2 weeks after the 5RM cycle I plan on working within 5 reps instead of doing negs. Should I just use my already set 5RM for the whole 6 days, or should I increase weight if I can? Should I train within 2 or 3 sets the last month of the 2-week cycle?

Last edited: May 19, 2012
  2. TangoDown

TangoDown Member

If you miscalculated, just drop the weight a bit your next workout and make sure your 5 rep mesocycle is correct as the 5 rep mesocycle is going to be the most important IMO. Heck, dropping the weight might even lend to some CNS recovery, though your CNS shouldn't be too taxed at the moment seeing as you're only a few days into your 10 rep max cycle.

Now you don't want miscalculated 5 rep numbers because your 5 rep mesocycle is where you lift the most weight and thus can lead to more CNS fatigue if you start going to failure early in the mesocycle. So again, make sure those are correct.