ideal conditions for hypertrophy

jwbond

i am a small business owner and therefore have a unique situation where i can have access to my weights any time of the day, as often as i want.

i was thinking i can keep some dumbells in my office to help increase frequency for my bis and tris. what would be the ideal amount of frequency, rep range, and weight to have the most amountof growth possible?

Jw

The best i have heard is twice a day! Going more than that could burn you out!

But man...you the owner of the guns...try out some stuff of your own and see the results.

I have tried every now and again throwing in a few odd sets against time, coming up with stuff like 21's, odd drop sets reaching 30 and more reps...and yes it did help at the end...but it is so subjective...it is really up to you.

I'd rather have a bar where i could either dip or chin often, as that really builds and it includes the bi's or the chest! depending on what your pick is!
cool.gif

i do chins and dips in my 5x a week routine (alternating between two routines). however i am about 200lbs @ 11% bf. i am benching 275 as my 5RM, but my arms are only about 15 3/4" flexed. i feel they should be bigger at this stage so i am going to increase frequency of my iso work on them since the compounds are already in place often enough.

ill try some high rep stuff throughout the day at work and see how it goes. i recall an hst vet saying the optimum conditions for hypertrophy would be constant load followed by a hospitol bed for hypertrophy. obviously this would be extreme, but why not try to get closer to optimum conditions if you can.

Well

Then go for it.

As I said some high rep stuff, some drop sets, high load - low reps/medium load - medium reps/low load high reps - I have tried this before and my arms quickly responede from 13 to 15" in about 90 days or so...