Is this good progress?

SoxFan

I was just wondering if after 2 cycles, adding 1/2 inch to my arms, 3/4 of an inch to my chest and a 1/2 to my quads is decent, slow or great progress??

I should tell you that I am a newbie of sorts.. Just started lifting again after about a 10 year layoff..

That's solid progress. Think about it this way... if you could sustain that progress, how big would you be after another six cycles? If you are doing eight week cycles, then that's about a year from now. You would have gained another 1 1/2 inches to your arms, 2 1/4 inches to your chest and 1 1/2 inches to your quads. Maybe that doesn't sound like a lot when you just type it out, but that is significant progress over the course of a year.

In reality, you probably won't be able to keep going like that especially if you are going to be cutting at some point, but it is a good goal to shoot for.

Thanks Tot,

I understand they are probably all newbie gains as they say, but gain is gain right !!

and yes, I am starting a cut now so I realize it wont always continue like that. This HST program really works great..

I am so surprised at how much bigger my arms look after doing ZERO arm isolation exercises during the first 2 cycles... It's really something...

Well what happened for me when I came to HST originally is that the first several cycles were quite productive. My most productive was actually my fourth or fifth (not sure which) and after that, gains started to come a little slower. Not coincidentally, the most productive cycle was the one where I ate a ton and didn't worry about fat gain, and once I started getting all anal about my fat gain was when my gains slowed.
So... after your cut, as long as you don't get stuck in the trap of being afraid of gaining even an ounce of fat, chances are good that you'll continue to make some real good progress for quite a while.

And yeah, that's great progress for arms considering you did no isolations. Good work.

Thanks.