Just starting, need feedback please.

flog62

I know you guys read many posts just like this and probably get tired of answering them, but appearently your opinions mean something or us newbies would'nt ask for your help. Just starting HST and would like some feedback on my lifts. I do not have a spotter, so I do not feel comfortable/safe with some lifts. I would just like to know if the lifts that I have selected will be suffecient. Any and all feed back will be appreciated.

DB Bench/Incline-Not comfortable with BB bench, no spotter
Deadlift-Again, not comfortable with squats, no spotter
Military Press
Bentover rows
Leg Ext.
Some variety of biceps
Some variety of triceps
Calf Raises

Find out whether your gym has a power rack, which include saftey bars. You can set these up just slightly lower then your chest so when you fail you can push it off onto the bar. Same principles for squats.

No, do not have a power rack. Everything that is available to me is very basic. I am a coach in a small school (very small), so I just use our weightroom. We do have safety bars on the squat racks, still do not feel comfortable squatting alone on our racks. Plus this is one thing that I tell all of my players to never do and will not even let them bench or squat, no matter what weight, if they do not bring a partener to the weightroom. Plus this gets one more kid in the weightroom.

Up to you i guess.. As long as you can create enough micro trauma in the each muscle group your ok. But, I wouldn't really expect the best results when excluding core exercises in replacement of isolation.

Would DB bench and deadlift not be considered a core exercise? I know that I am isolating with the other lifts. But really the only core exercises that I have seen from other people on here is bench and squat. Not trying to argue your points, I understand what you are saying on the iso lifts, just not on the core lifts.