lever squats vs barbell squates

Maximuscrates

Okay,

So at the gym I use a lever machine to do my squats. It has great padding for my shoulders and it eliminates the z and x axis. So the only work my legs do is in the y axis(straight up and down).

I can load up a lot of weight on this without fear of hurting myself and if I fail on my last day of my 10's then the machine catches the weight without me being crushed. And I did fail on my second set of those 10's so it was good.

My 10 rep max on the squates is 250 lbs and I dont think I can do this with the barbell because of balancing issues and it seems a little dangerous. My 5 rep max is going to be 300lbs
biggrin.gif

But I want to know what you guys think? Should I reduce my load and use the free weight or stick with the higher load on the machine.

I can only speak for myself. I have a bodysolid freeweight lever machine that works like yours. I have a semicrushed #4 lumbar disc, and it got worse at around 410lbs in the squat. On my machine, I've gone to 530 (which I'd not be able to do with freeweight) with no problems using a belt and knee wraps. I intend to see 600 someday, just for kicks, even tho my quads are genetically dispositioned not to grow much.
I think some kind of squats are just necessary for overall body growth. And the "pump" is the same on the machine as with the bar, so why not?

Do both and alternate between them each workout. On a Powertec Leverage squat machine I can do sets of 5 with 460 lbs, but I can't do anywhere near that amount with freeweight squats.

A few of my thoughts:

If you can do them (ie. you don't have an injury that would prevent you from doing so), I feel that bb squats provide superior all round benefits over machine squats because of the number of extra muscles working hard just to enable you to balance during the movement. Ordinarily, you should not be going to failure which greatly reduces any danger, esp. if your form is good.