Needing Some Expert Criticism

gypsylifter

Hey guys

I hope you are well.

I have been using the HST principals for about 8 months now and it’s amazing.

I would really appreciate you criticizing the following aspects of my routine.

1. I currently go to the gym every second day with no break, and will do so for around a 8-9 weeks straight. I will then spend 14 days off for strategic decondition where I will do NO gym.

2. My ‘days’ are as follows – 12 rep, 10 rep, 8 rep, 6 rep, 6 rep then start over.

3. I do two exercises to for each body part, upping the weight for each session, As follows

Pull up (back)

Bench press (chest)

Shoulder side raise (shoulder)

Skull crush (tri)

Flat bar (bi)

Row (back)

Chest fly (chest)

Upright row (shoulder)

Cable pull down (Tri)

Chinup (bi)

I then throw in some leg movements. I finish off with 2 sets of deadlifts, 8 reps each and 2 sets of squats, 8 reps each

So what are your thoughts on the above? Am I doing too much? Should I be changing my reps? Should I be simplifying my routine for my ‘12’s day so that I’m not spending over an hour in the gym? Am I doing too much?

This routine has allowed me to gain about 4kgs in 2 months, and I want to make sure I have fine-tuned it perfectly before going any further – HST is a lot of effort and I do NOT want to waste a single session

I really appreciate any of your thoughts and feedback. Please understand, you advice is helping me and helping me educate others. Please do not post comments for the sake of it or provide feedback that isn’t constructive

Thank you all.

Matt

Is there any reason why you aren't following a more standard HST routine, ala 2 weeks of 15s, 2 weeks of 10s, 2 weeks of 5s?

Have you read the ebook linked to in the sticky thread?

The routine is ok but could be improved quite a bit in my opinion. I would never use lateral raises as my main shoulder movement. Why no overhead work?