"Shock" the nervous system?

Rain

Hi,
I just recently found out about HST, so in that sense I am new to this particular method of training. But the more I read, the more I realize that I have been training in a way not to far from HST for quite a while, and that the HST principles are close to my own views on BB and strength training.

I have been using a different frequency, hitting every muscle 2 times per week instead of three, as HST advocates, but this has worked out great so far. Instead of doing a whole-body workout on one day, I split it up into two days, like this:

Mon: Chest, Back, Calves
Tue: Arms, Shoulders, Abs & Legs
Wed: Rest
Thu: Chest, Back, Calves
Fri : Arms, Shoulders, Abs & Legs

Rest on Saturday and Sunday.

I feel that the 2-day split gives me greater focus on every muscle group than if I would do the whole body on the same day. Also, when it comes to doing reps, I usually prepare for the "actual" reps by moving upwards in weight. This means that I, after doing warm-up, do 1's and 2's up to about 95% of my 1RM. I feel that this technique makes it possible for me to handle heavier weight (while still not going to failure) than I otherwise would. I may be able to handle 10-15 pounds more in each set doing it this way. I read an article about this way of training a couple of years ago and having been using it ever since.

Any thoughts on this?

Best regards,
R

If you plan on starting an HST cycle, then I recommend doing an upper/lower split since you seem comfortable with that format, but instead of doing a frequency of twice per week, up it to three times (meaning you'll need to lift wed and sat.) If that's too many days at the gym, then do the 3x/week standard format.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]Also, when it comes to doing reps, I usually prepare for the "actual" reps by moving upwards in weight. This means that I, after doing warm-up, do 1's and 2's up to about 95% of my 1RM.