slow, long term HST?

nittany31

Hi everybody,

I'm brand new to HST, and so far its very exciting. I have a question or two though, because I don't want all the time/effort at the gym to go to waste because of something small thats hampering gains..

I'm 19, about 6 feet tall and weigh an even 150 right now. I'm about to move into the 10's of my first HST cycle. I've lifted on and off for a few years doing simple routines but never very accurately monitored my nutrition intake (calories, protein, etc). However I am monitoring those things now and am trying to optimize my results, given that I'm starting with a fairly clean slate (relatively cut figure, not too much "visible" BF).

Given where I'm starting, I'm wondering if rather than bulking (eating ~700 over maintenance, calorie-wise) and then cutting (eating less than maintenance), I can just put on muscle more slowly and stay cut while I grow by eating only around, say, 200 cals over maintenance every day and doing a lot of cardio.

Am I way off base here? Is this possible?

I've tried tabata (sprinting) and would rather do this once or twice a week than jog for an hour. Are the cardio effects of doing this comparable to those of regular jogging?

Lastly, a quick review of my supplements so far:
~2300 cals/day (maintenance is like 2000)
~150g protein every day
~2.5g creatine ethyl ester every day (preworkout on training days)

dunno how my thread went up twice..but if anybody that responds could please use the thread just above (or below) this one (my post even got cut off somehow) to do so, that'd make it easier - thx

it has the exact same heading

I've heard its far better to jog a mile or two everyday rather than jog once or twice a week for an hour or so. Apparently you lose all the gains from it if you don't do it everyday (no need to go any more than 2 miles at most I don't think).