Spine Injury, PLZ Help

spine

Hey Guys,

I have been using HST with great success for the past 2 years. I got a bit carried away a few months ago and started using much heavier weights than I should have. Long story short: due to improper form I sustained a spinal related injury, that is I have slightly bulging cervical spine discs.

Could anyone recommend substitutes for the lat pulldown and military press?- as they both increase pressure on the spine. Any exercises I should avoid? I haven't been able to work out for the past 6 months. I've had two cortisone shots and they have helped moderately. Any help would be very appreciated.

Actually, lat pulldowns or pullups should stretch the spine, rather than compress it. You'll want to avoid other exersizes that stress the bad disc too. I have a compressed #4 lumbar and I don't do good mornings, hyperextensions, overhead presses (except with dumbells), or regular deads. I am experimenting with modified shrug-style deads though. But I do weighted pullups, pulldowns. I had to swap d/b bench rows for cable rows when it got heavy. If your pulldowns are hurting, try pullups, and experiment with different leg positions.
Hope that helped.

How bad is it. Id seriously talk to a chiropractor.....note that not all of them care about the patients...

Personally, i wouldn't do anything until i got it fixed. You do not want to risk further damage and from the sounding of it. The spine is very strong, but if it is damaged, its strength and endurance may decline dramatically.

I would get it fixed, and then work on just my core strenth for about 4 monthes.

There are a lot of BBs out there that do not work their back because they think it will grow on its own.....this is true....kinda

You give me more detail, and I can try to get some info from my chiropractor.