thai boxer wanting to do weights

• Thread starter Thread starter andysutils
  • Start date Start date
A

andysutils

Hi all and would just like to say what great support this forum provides.

Im a thai boxer but want to implement weights inot my training because im 6ft and weigh 140lbs, and you can totally guess from that why i want to start
biggrin.gif

Im totally new to it and was thinking of buying this weight bench for starting out.

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/3026438.htm

Would this be adiquate for upperbody excersises as im only mainly looking to work on the upper body.

Hope you can help me.

<div>
(Joe.Muscle @ Dec. 06 2006,15:59)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">It would and could work.

I would love to learn Thai boxing!!!
biggrin.gif
</div>
wink.gif
thanks bro, thats a good start, yes thai boxing is a hard disipline, i should be fighting next year and im going to thailand this saturday for 3 weeks of thai training on a floating camp.

I dont want to get really big, just bump my size up a few kgs

Then do it, follow the HST program and you'll get bigger and stronger. Stronger will help you in the ring or on the mat.

Ignore those that say you'll get muscle bound and slow. I've been doing shotokan karate for over 20 years and sansoo kungfu for almost that long, with some american boxing and very little JJJ. I've been trying to get &quot;muscle bound&quot; and it hasn't happened yet. As I get stronger, I just get better.

All I want to do is learn a little muy thi and BJJ. Unfortunatly none of those are taught here.

Just your average karate, taiwondo....which after being a mma fan for past 4 yeas...I have lost a lot of hope in your standard martial arts???

Your only as slow as you train your muscles. I started BBing for the same reason as you except i am 68.5 inches tall and i weighed around 140....it seems 140 is the average amount people weigh if they are in martial arts.