Traps, the Bar, and You

quadancer

I've been a carpenter most my life, biker, sailor (USGC), mechanic, and assorted other hats. I can take a punch, a hammer hit, a fall, or slamming into a tree off a dirt bike.
But what I can't even take is a squeeze to the traps. I have a Manta Ray and am probably one of the 1/1000 it was built for, but getting into PL'ing has me wanting to bear the bar since the Manta isn't allowed in comps, and I might wanna go play with the big boyz one day.
I've loaded my squat rack at home with 315 and have started just doing walkouts with it for as long as I can stand, which isn't very long at all. I tried 405 today and was scared to unrack it, it hurt so bad.
I'm working the Korte 3x3 with the naked bar okay, but it's only past week 2 at 235 for the 8 sets. I put it low as possible on the traps as my stiff shoulder joints will allow, and I think it's where it should be.

Should I continue with the walkouts to get ready for the heavy portion of next month? Or is there something else I can do to deaden the nerves up there? (NovaCaine comes to mind...)
Anyone else have this problem?
___

Are you making a shelf with your scapula and resting the bar on it?

There are some shrug techniques that can build up the traps just for squatting. I think the hiss shrug is one of them.

So long as the pain isn't due to something in the spine I'd say try the walkouts.

My traps exploded long ago when I started doing real power shrugs. Yes, low bar only, and it's probably just that I have more nerves in that area, like some guys have in the hands, or wherever. Feels like a stab in the back over 300 lbs., but it's not skeletal; more spread out.
Goldmill at Clutch suggested wrapping a towel on the bar at first. I envy the guys who are dead in that area.

Hey, did you like the 'toon I made for you?

<div>
(quadancer @ Sep. 03 2009,7:43)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I'm working the Korte 3x3